EYFS – Areas of Learning

When your child starts at Henry Cavendish, s/he will be coming into The Early Years Foundation Stage. This is the stage prior to starting the National Curriculum at Key Stage 1.  We believe that young children are entitled to high quality early years education and care. This is fundamental to their well being and development and lays the foundations on which later learning and success can be built.The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework sets the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five and all government funded pre-schools follow the principles of this.

There are 4 main principles:
A unique child

  • Every child is a competent learner who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships

  • Children learn to be strong and independent based on caring and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments

  • The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development

  • Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. All areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

At Henry Cavendish we provide a broad, balanced, creative, developmentally appropriate and flexible curriculum that caters for the wide range of needs of the children. The curriculum for the Foundation Stage is divided into six areas of learning with targets to achieve called Early Learning Goals. The areas of learning are as follows:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Children learn how to work, play and co-operate with others and function with others beyond the family.

Communication, Language and Literacy

  • Children develop competence in talking and listening, and in becoming readers and writers.

Problem Solving, Reasoning and Number

  • Children focus on practical activities and using and understanding language in the development of simple mathematical ideas.

Knowledge and Understanding of the World

  • Children develop knowledge and understanding of their environment, other people, and features of the natural and man-made world.

Physical development

  • Children develop physical control, mobility and awareness of space and manipulative skills in both indoor and outdoor environments.

Creative Development

  • Children use their imagination and ability to communicate and express ideas and feelings.

The children access the curriculum through practical experiences and structured play activities. The Foundation Stage staff plan the activities for each curriculum focus. Where appropriate these are differentiated for individual needs.
There are early learning goals in each of the six areas which most children will have achieved by the end of their reception year at school. At Henry Cavendish we recognise that all children are different. Children learn and develop at different rates and some may achieve these goals earlier and some later.

Children learn about themselves and the world around them through play. In our school, your child’s play is supported and extended in a friendly and caring environment. In line with Early Years Foundation Stage guidance, Henry Cavendish offers continuous provision within the six areas of learning:

Construction Creative activities
Investigation Malleable play
Mark making Numeracy
Messy play Looking at books
Role-play Sand and water
Small world play Snack bar.

The outside space provides the children with lots of opportunities for exploring and learning about the world around them. There are areas for digging and planting: playhouses and natural materials to spark imaginative role-play, and an artificial grassed area for running and sports activities.